Clinical Research Office. A partnership between Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust and the University of Sheffield

Medical Imaging and Medical Physics

Click here to read the Medical Imaging and Medical Physics 
Research Strategy

Key Contacts

Name Role
Dr Nigel Hoggard
nigel.hoggard@sth.nhs.uk
Research Lead (Radiology)
Dr. Steven Wood Research Lead (Medical Physics)
Dr Matthew Bull
matthew.bull@sth.nhs.uk
Clinical Director
Prof Wendy Tindale
wendy.tindale@sth.nhs.uk
Scientific Director
Paula Bailey
Operations Director
Julie Broscomb
julie.broscomb@sth.nhs.uk
Group Finance Manager
Steve Harrison
steve.harrison2@sth.nhs.uk
Directorate Accountant
Sally Fleming sally.fleming@sth.nhs.uk Directorate Research Coordinator
Bridget Billingham bridget.billingham@sth.nhs.uk Directorate Research Coordinator
Aimee Card
Clinical Research Office Coordinator
Gaurika Kapoor
gaurika.kapoor@sth.nhs.uk
Clinical Research Office Coordinator
(Industry-Sponsored Studies)


The Directorate of Medical Imaging and Medical Physics provides state of the art imaging to support of both commercial and academic research. To find out more about the imaging facilities available for research and how to request support please click here.

Medical Physics Expert and Clinical Radiation Expert Services

Medical Imaging and Medical Physics has been providing services to clinical research organisations seeking Research Ethics Committee (REC) approval for over ten years. We employ several Medical Physics Experts (MPE) and Clinical Radiation Experts (CRE) for all modalities. We provide a complete service in support of REC approval for research studies involving diagnostic x-ray and nuclear medicine imaging or therapeutic treatments using Ionising Radiation, including:

• MPE and CRE assessments for Part B Section 3 of the Integrated Research Application System (IRAS) application form, in compliance with National Research Ethics Service (NRES) guidance;
• advice on ionising radiation risks and suitable risk statements for patient information sheets to facilitate local site compliance with the Ionising Radiations (Medical Exposure) Regulations (IRMER);
• advice on the requirement of Administration of Radioactive Substances Advisory Committee (ARSAC) certificates;
• a 15 working day turn-around to deliver the majority of study assessments, after receipt of complete final documentation. Complex/novel studies may take longer, if additional details are required;
• electronic authorisation of completed IRAS forms.

In addition specialist Radiation Protection advice can be provided for:
• studies involving novel uses of ionising radiation for which prior risk assessments, policies, procedures and local rules are required;
• requirements for licensing by the Environment Agency or ARSAC licensing where radioactive materials are involved. 

If you have any enquiries, please call 0114 2712688 and ask for Giles Morrison. For further information please click here.