Clinical Research Office. A partnership between Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust and the University of Sheffield

Our Directorates & Care Groups

As a research active Trust all our 27 Clinical Directorates host studies conducted by NHS and University clinicians. The emphasis is on NIHR Portfolio grant and industry studies, but directorates also support pilot studies and those undertaken for educational qualifications.

Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust has also established fourteen academic directorates which focus strongly on combining research with clinical care. Our academic directorates include:

  • Accident & Emergency
  • Cardiology and Cardiothoracic Surgery
  • Combined Community & Acute Care Group
  • Communicable Diseases
  • Diabetes and Endocrinology
  • Gastroenterology
  • Medical Imaging and Physics
  • Neurosciences
  • Obstetrics, Gynaecology & Neonatology
  • Oral and Dental
  • Renal Services
  • Respiratory Medicine
  • Specialised Cancer
  • Specialised Medicine
  • Urology